Sliding Down The Looking Glass

Over the weekend, had a chance to take Thing 2 to Alice Through The Looking Glass. I’m an unabashed Tim Burton/Johnny Depp/Danny Elfman fan. Yes, there have been a few missteps (*cough – the Oompa Loompas in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory were just plain freaky), but as a whole, I see “Burton” and say, “Let’s go!”

Alice

Imagine my disappointment when Burton was NOT the director.

stahp

Cue overpriced popcorn, caffeine to keep my eyelids open and and empty theater. Except the three dudes who brought in their own waters and…oranges. I guess they want to be healthy.

 

Quick rundown: 113 minutes and rated PG. Heavy on the CGI (how else could Wonderland come to life) and lean on plot.

 

Well, here are my highlights:

  1. Working in Alan Rickman’s voice as Absalom. (insert my sigh here…such a magical voice)
  2. Sacha Baron Cohen in a dramatic role and NAILING IT!
  3. Andrew Scott’s cameo, sounding just like Moriarty from Sherlock.

 

I had my own opinion coming out of the theater and Thing 2 summed it up perfectly: “It was busy.” There were lots o’ subplots that lead, inevitably, to the ribbon-tied ending. At times, it was chaotic with a side of neon colors.

 

Then there is the politically correct way for explaining the Red Queen’s nasty outlook on life…it wasn’t her fault. Blech.

no

Here’s the deal: keep yer money in your wallet. IF, and that’s a big if, you want to throw down a few bucks, wait until you can rent it. Try not to be as offended as I was when the end credits started to roll and P!nk started playing. (caveat, I even LIKE P!nk and couldn’t stomach the abruptness of the song)

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

Leave a Reply

Jebraun Clifford

dream.write.repeat

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

Embrace your uniqueness. Tap into your potential. Pursue the impossible.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

