This Is My Costume

This time of year always makes me chuckle because I.Don’t.Do.Halloween. I hear some of you huffing and others clapping. I’m here to inform you I am not your champion for either cause. No orange and black cape for me.

 

edna

During the week, my email and Facebook pages have been pinged with “Christians Should Celebrate Halloween” alongside of “Halloween is the Devil’s Day” articles. Honestly, I click on a few and kinda skim them because neither sway my personal opinion of October 31st. This should evoke gasps of horror from the crowd who reads the latter articles.

 

I grew up dressing up for Halloween. Some years, I scrounged desperately for something while other years I remembered a week ahead of time to try and be more elaborate in my décor. Don’t worry, I won’t post any of those pictures here. It’s much better for my reputation if no one sees my hippie outfits. Even as an adult, I partake in dressing up AND taking free candy.

 

My favorite adventure, as an adult, for Halloween was when the church the Hubs and I attended had “Trunk or Treat.” The first year was pitiful, but the following years?! We upgraded every year and the parents/adults had more fun trying to outdo each other with their cars and trucks. The last time Hubs and I had an elaborate fishing deal set up. Kids ran around in the parking lot on their sugar highs and didn’t have to worry about being crushed by passing cars. And no one, kids or adults alike, had to worry about a shortage in candy.

Homer

So with these fond memories, you may be wondering why I don’t do Halloween. Honestly? It scares me. I frighten easily. Case in point: I worked at a movie theatre while in high school (BEST high school job, ever!) and when The Addams Family came out, it was near Halloween. My boss had the employees participate in a haunted house. I couldn’t do it…cried the first night even having to walk in, knowing people were going to jump out at me. The second night, the boss allowed me to arrive an hour early (still light outside!) and run the lighting behind the curtain. While it was funny at times to see people jump and scream, more than once I was sad for the truly terrified kids.

scared

How many haunted houses/mazes/fill-in-the-blank-here have I been through? ZERO

 

Mock me incessantly, but I’m a dyed-in-the-wool scaredy cat. At least I own it. Plus, the gore factor of the costumes has increased a hundred fold since I was a kid. Don’t even start me on the “Sexy Nurse” or “Sexy Policewoman” costumes…

 

Meh. I have other things to obsess about rather than the pitfalls or glorification of Halloween.

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

Leave a Reply

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

PURSUE is an online magazine that encourages and inspires girls to pursue their youth by discovering their calling, embracing their uniqueness, and learning how to sustain health in body, mind, and spirit. It is a general interest magazine that covers topics in life, encouragement & motivation, inspiration, arts & creativity, and beauty & fashion.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

