I Intern-rupt you…

Tuesday! You sneaky McSneakster. Creeping up on me like there’s only 11 Fridays until Christmas. Yes…I just went there.

Just like I went to the movies this weekend! TWICE!

hiya karate chop

I’ll leave the “other” movie for next time. But for now, my personal dark horse. I went to see The Intern with Thing 1. I was completely ambivalent about even going. Don’t get me wrong – I love both Anne Hathaway and Robert DeNiro. However, the entire premise of the plot made me think it would be entirely predictable and meh. Happy to say, I was way wrong.

THE-INTERN-Movie-Poster

Shortest.Synopsis.EVER: A retired widower lands an internship at an online fashion site run by a young, career-driven woman. Gritty details: rated PG-13 for one F-bomb and middle finger (caveat: both Thing 1 and I belly-laughed at both instances) and the B-word via text, twice. No naked bits, although there are a couple of sexual innuendos inferring senior citizens are, in fact, not dead in that way. I choose to believe the movie because I’m neither asking about nor researching it.

 

How refreshing to have a film not littered with unnecessary swearing! On top of that highlight, it was a movie which didn’t portray a 70 year old as either dirty-minded or succumbing to dementia. Robert DeNiro was perfect in his role as Ben, a guy who still has lots of life left and wants to enjoy it. When he explains to the younger guys at work why he carries a handkerchief, I got tears in my eyes; my dad has always carried one too.

 

Anne Hathaway nails her savvy, on-the-go entrepreneur Jules, who has put her life on hold to pursue her business towards  uber-success. She’s quick to act and even more quick to judge. She has little to no use for the senior intern who has been assigned to her…until she realizes how much she needs him.

26intern

Oh, and I have to congratulate writer/director Nancy Meyers for a velociraptor-intelligent, wee daughter who catches onto the adults in her life. A realistic child? How novel. Kids do see the little things.

 

Throw in some stellar minor characters, superb subplots and some scenes that hit you in the feels, and The Intern is a movie I whole-heartedly recommend to anyone high school and up (If you don’t think a high school has heard/seen sexual innuendos at school, you’re wrong). The story was like a gorgeous rose to begin with and as the plot progressed, it became multi-layered, but stunning nonetheless.

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

Leave a Reply

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

PURSUE is an online magazine that encourages and inspires girls to pursue their youth by discovering their calling, embracing their uniqueness, and learning how to sustain health in body, mind, and spirit. It is a general interest magazine that covers topics in life, encouragement & motivation, inspiration, arts & creativity, and beauty & fashion.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

