Daily Archives: September 10, 2015

And Suddenly…A Stick

I was attacked by a ninja on Monday.

Chuck Norris and I were sparing.

There was a pack of stick wielding thugs.

A random stick impaled me.

I stepped on a stick on Monday.

 

While this may seem ordinary to you, as it was to me on Sunday, I am now otherwise informed. By someone with “M.D.” after his name, no less.

 

You see, sticks apparently have it out for the human race. Not only are they pretend guns and swords, make slingshots or prop up boxes to catch heffalumps and woozles, they have a knack to create havoc with one’s immunity.

hw

And while I searched high and low for a Bible verse about sticks, mostly I laid around. Or, if you’re good friends with the thesaurus, I lounged. Doctor’s orders.

 

Lounging is overrated for someone that likes to be busy. That’s me. And, unfortunately, the creative juices don’t just flow because I’m at a physical stand still. When I stopped and considered, I now see the things I’ve learned:

  1. God gets my attention in inventive and odd ways.
  2. God created that poor stick. I crushed that little stick’s soul.
  3. I wish the story had ninjas or Chuck Norris.
  4. Even binge watching can get boring.
  5. God’s sense of humor was apparent by the angle of that stick.
  6. Really, really wish ninjas were involved.

chuck

So once again, it’s a one post week and I apologize. To all six of you…


Tim's Blog - Just One Train Wreck After Another

Honoring God, Encouraging People

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Kelsey Messner

Fiction Writer

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Nike N. Chillemi ~ mystery & a merry heart

Grace & Grit ~ Like my bad guys really bad - My good guys fighting for justice against steep odds.

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION