Self-Confessed Nerd and/or Geek

I’ve been to a Battlestar Galactica convention. It’s true. I am a nerd you read about who dressed up like their favorite character (but I missed the competition time). Don’t laugh! It was absolutely one of the geekiest and most fun weekends I’ve had!

Geek term: “Squee” – to make a high pitched noise associated with excitement.

squeeeee

For hours, I waited in line with friends to see the “new” Star Wars movies when the first one was released in 1999. I had to work, so I didn’t spend the night in a tent, but fully supported my friends who did! I’ve attended too many midnight showings to count and had tears of joy when the latest Star Wars trailer hit the web. Yes…I cried. It was magical to me! Needless to say, I enjoy a good flick.

If you were to peruse my Netflix account, my “See It Again” is chalk-full of rampant geek. Firefly, Star Trek, Neverending Story, Labyrinth, Dr. Who, X-Files. Give me an alternate universe, a fairy tale or something set in space and I’m usually game!

This doesn’t mean there aren’t some classic sci-fi failures. I refuse to watch Sharknado. It’s never going to happen. And I only watched Mega-Lava-Something-Or-Other because there was an actress who I liked cast as a main character (it didn’t help the plot, though).

I had a conversation with a Christian writer friend earlier this year about our love of fairy tale remakes. She preferred Cinderella while I gravitated towards Maleficent. It’s not that either of us was wrong, per se, but our tastes simply parted at the fork in the road. She didn’t like the portrayal of Prince Philip while I took to task on the heavy CGI and lack of story development (I concede the relationship with Prince Charming and his dad was fantastic).

The recent expansion of the dystopian genre in book, film and television has been exciting to me. Some extraordinary stories have made huge profit and created a far-reaching crowd. It’s been nice to watch the Hunger Games trilogy and know Katniss is not going to drop the f-bomb.

Katniss

I admit, although I didn’t prefer the Divergent books (oooh, don’t get me started on the last one and sudden point of view changes!), I was just as disappointed as Thing 1 was when we watched the Insurgent and the film depicts Tris and Four hooking up. I know it was “implied,” but in the books, it is a HUGE hang-up for Tris and an even bigger let down for the viewers who weren’t expecting anything of the sort.

I challenge you to get your geek on! Embrace your inner nerd! And use exclamation points because editors and English teachers alike flinch at the sight!!!

Let me know if you’d like a particular review of a movie, book or television show. I would LOVE a good excuse to watch or read!

I like the Bible

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

Leave a Reply

Jebraun Clifford

dream.write.repeat

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

Embrace your uniqueness. Tap into your potential. Pursue the impossible.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

