The Other Beauty and the Beast

I had intended to go see Fantastic Four this past weekend. However, after reading reviews and having friends warn me, this tweet (from the director and it’s already been deleted) was brought to my attention and saved me two hours of grief:

 

josh-trank-tweet

Oh, Netflix, how I love thee! I was bummed about the movie and kinda bored when I clicked on Beauty and the Beast. Must’ve been distracted too, since I tend to try and stay away from shows from the CW. But imagine my surprise when I liked the first one! Then I clicked the second. And third. And then my family was already asleep and I was like…

 

Netflix

As a kid, I grew up with this version on television:

 BATBBlackWhite01

 So, you can see why I wasn’t exactly jonesing to get back into a cheesy story line. But fast forward the plot to 2012 and update the main characters! Catherine “Cat” Chandler is a New York Police detective who witnessed her mother’s murder. She falls in love with Vincent Kelly, an ex-soldier who has been hiding from the secret government organization that turned him into a genetically altered beast. Be still my conspiracy and sci-fi lovin’ heart!

 Beauty-and-the-Beast-New(some serious fierce stares right there)

 

I’ve only made it through the first two seasons, but they each have twenty-two episodes! Holy binge watching, Batman! I’ll be hitting season three via Hulu soon and season four was ordered by the CW, so I’m set for a while.

 

Unlike the vast majority of the shows on the CW, Cat dresses like a relatively “normal” adult. Her shirts don’t flutter or show off cleavage and she wears boots to work. Vincent does have some gratuitous shirtless scenes in Season 1, but it’s not over-the-top(less). And yes, the characters do have sex, but again, there is much less skin than the average PG-13 movie. I was pleasantly surprised. Expect bouts of self-deprivation and loathing – again, it’s the CW. A mild dose of excessive drama is par for the course. Oh yes, and add in a masquerade. Another bonus of television? No swearing! Wait…I think the “b” word comes out a couple of times (in two seasons).

 

All in all, I never expected to get sucked into the vortex that is Beauty and the Beast. It’s nowhere close to any of my top favorites, but it’s palatable and that’s good.

mehgif

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

6 responses to “The Other Beauty and the Beast

  • Jon

    CW has been amping up the good shows in the last few years. Flash and Arrow are astounding (I’m aDC comics guy tho). They’ve worked hard on developing characters correctly and beat ABC’s special effects (talking to you Agents of SHIELD) to a pulp. Look no further than the relationship between Flash’s real father and adoptive father in season one (right in the feels!) to see how CW is working hard to find better TV.

  • Tamra Wilson

    Have you ever tried the original with Ron Perlman and Linda Hamilton? (Two names that I’m sure have you interested already!) Cheesy as allllll get out, but pretty good. Ron Perlman is phenomenal as the Beast.

    • sarahb5149

      I LOVE Ron Perlman! Especially in Hell Boy. 😀 Grew up watching the original TV version of B&B, so I have a special place for its cheesy goodness. ❤

      • Tamra Wilson

        He has such a beautiful reading voice, and is a great actor. You get the real sense that he understands the “monster” roles. My brother would have loved to have seen him cast as the Thing (When he was younger, of course).

      • sarahb5149

        Absolutely the monster roles! He probably has more hours in a make-up chair than the entire LOtR cast. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Jebraun Clifford

dream.write.repeat

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

Embrace your uniqueness. Tap into your potential. Pursue the impossible.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

