Guardians of the Galaxy

Alrighty, let’s dig in here. I’ll be reviewing new releases as well as older movies. If you have a request, drop me a line! I do adore a good flick!

 

Guardians of the Galaxy

 

Okay, so it’s not exactly a new release. More like newish. First off, I will reveal that I grew up a Marvel comic book reader, albeit along the lines of X-Men, so the Guardians of the Galaxy is a new line for me. To prep myself for the movie, I completely ignored the Wikipedia page so that I didn’t have any preconceived notions (seriously, I cannot tell you how squirmy I get watching X-Men movies…).

 

First off, it’s PG-13. In general, comic books-turned-movies have more than a fair amount of violence. It boils down to good versus evil, bad guys trying to kill good guys, demi-gods plotting the demise of everyone (including their own kids, if need be). This, I understand; even Tolkien and Lewis have epic battles (and thank you Peter Jackson for interpreting the Lord of the Rings series with such attention!). But I digress…it is rated PG-13 for “intense sequences of sci-fi violence and action, and for some language. I will say this: the three swear words I heard (all the same “S” word) seemed contrived, like the director or actors just jammed the word randomly into a sentence to justify having the “and some language.” Honestly, comic books survived for years without swearing and I’m not quite sure why filmmakers think that it’s necessary now.

 

Our kids (lovingly referred to as Thing 1 and Thing 2) went with us to the flick. Having cut their teeth on Tolkien and Lewis, Star Wars and Star Trek, they were used to epic battles. Thing 1 is in eighth grade and has a penchant for sci-fi. Thing 2 loves the ninth Doctor most of all and I respect that. So, we were not terribly worried about the kids seeing violence. The language was so randomly tossed in that Thing 1 leaned over after the first “S” bomb and said, “That wasn’t necessary.” There is rampant adult humor throughout the flick.

 

Overall, it was a decent movie with a decent plot. There were a few, minor plot holes, but nothing that left me scratchin’ my head. There is the main character, gun-toting, trench coat wearing and lady’s man Peter Quill, who has stolen a lil’ orb that the villainous Ronan wants. Ronan’s henchman, the green-skinned and murderous Gamora, says that she will gladly steal it back and return it to Ronan, who would like to completely destroy a civilization. Well, add in the CGI raccoon Rocket and a similar-to-an-Ent tree-man named Groot and that rounds out the quartet that have to come to terms with themselves, their secrets and their shortcomings to save the galaxy.

 

Without spoilers, I will say that Thing 1 and Thing 2 both named Groot in their favorite scenes from the movie, although they were in different parts of the movie. Mine was a line from Gamora, as she listened to headphones placed on her ears by Quill: “I know who you are, Peter Quill, and I am not some starry eyed waif here to succumb to your…your pelvic sorcery!” I laughed so loudly that the people in front of us turned around. Oh, that more women and girls did not succumb to pelvic sorcery…but that is another soap box.

 

I would not recommend this movie to parents with younger kids (under 10 and not used to epic battles) or to those that cannot abide the innuendos or cursing. I will say that the cursing is far less worse than what I’ve experienced just taking the kids to the park.

 

Onward, the Guardians of the Galaxy clocked in at just over two hours. If you do decide to watch it, be a responsible Marvel movie watcher and stay through the end of the credits. Shame on you if you do not; dishonor on your whole family! Dishonor on you! Dishonor on your cow!

 

About sarahb5149

When tasked with how to describe myself, I get quiet, leading people to believe that I am trying to come up with something deep and meaningful. In fact, I am trying to decide which to display without confusing them. I'm a Christian. And that doesn't mean that I simply say it - I love the Lord and have figured out over the years that He knows what He's doing, even when I am stomping my feet or looking at Him like I have no clue what is going on (*hint* it happens more than I'd care to admit). Writing has been a passion of mine since I was a wee lil' thing; I kept my first poem in all of it's stammering, unevenness. Wife and mom, daughter and sister, aunt and Sunday School teacher, I adore the roles that God has given me. A bit of a sci-fi nerd, geek and self proclaimed dork, there isn't much that I won't try at least once...unless it involves mayonnaise because that stuff is just gross. View all posts by sarahb5149

Leave a Reply

David N. Alderman

A Place Where Fiction And Faith Meet

sacredgroundstickyfloors

Resting in Jesus in the midst of lunacy.

Quills & Inkblotts

Because the world needs good stories

For Such a Time as This

I want to be a salt shaker, light bearer, city-on-a-hill dweller

Rosemary E. Johnson

Dragon Writer

Kelsey Messner

Compelling Christian Fiction

Pursue Magazine

PURSUE is an online magazine that encourages and inspires girls to pursue their youth by discovering their calling, embracing their uniqueness, and learning how to sustain health in body, mind, and spirit. It is a general interest magazine that covers topics in life, encouragement & motivation, inspiration, arts & creativity, and beauty & fashion.

tarajohnsonauthor

Courage, freedom and joy: stories that heal.

Crafting Mysteries & Suspense

Mystery author Cathy Elliott talks a bit about writing mysteries, life, faith, and the delights of quilting in "The Occasional Blog."

Of Rhythm and Dreams

life in poetry

loved by I am

a twenty-first century girl following the eternal Savior

Leslie H. Stobbe Literary Agency

CHEERING ON AUTHORS IS HIS MISSION

